From 15 December 2021, eligible citizens of South Korea (the Republic of Korea) who are considered fully vaccinated will be able to arrive from South Korea to Australia without seeking a travel exemption to participating states or territories. 


To be eligible, travellers must:

  • hold a passport from South Korea
  • hold a valid Australian visa
  • be fully vaccinated with a completed course of a vaccine approved or recognised by Australia’s Therapeutic Goods Administration (TGA)
    • children under 12 and people with acceptable proof they cannot be vaccinated for medical reasons can access the same arrangements as fully vaccinated travellers
    • arrangements are also in place in some states and territories to permit unvaccinated or partially vaccinated children aged 12-17 years to travel with a fully-vaccinated adult. Travellers should check the specific requirements with the state or territory to which they are travelling. 
  • travel directly from South Korea to Australia without transit, and arrive in a participating Australian state or territory
  • provide proof of their vaccination status; and
  • present a negative COVID-19 Polymerase Chain Reaction (PCR) test taken within 3 days of departure (unless exempt from undertaking a pre-departure PCR test under the extension and exemption arrangements set out by Department of Health).

The arrangement only applies to South Korean citizens travelling directly from South Korea to Australia without any transit between the two countries. Eligible travellers will not need to have been in South Korea for 14 days before their proposed travel but must still provide their 14 days travel history.

South Korea citizens travelling directly from countries other than South Korea are not eligible.

If a South Korean passport holder is travelling with family members, including dependent children, who are not also passport holders of South Korea (or Australian citizens or permanent residents), those family members are not eligible to travel to Australia unless they:

Valid visa

To be eligible for travel to Australia under the Safe Travel Zone arrangement, South Korean passport holders must hold a valid Australian visa, such as an Electronic Travel Authority (ETA). You can apply online for a visa that suits your needs through ImmiAccount.

See our website to explore visa options.

Australian ETA app

To visit Australia as a tourist or business visitor, you may be eligible for an Electronic Travel Authority (ETA). You can apply for an ETA quickly and easily using the Australian ETA app on your mobile device.

Download the Australian ETA app for free from the App Store (Apple) or Google Play store (Android).

See more information about the Electronic Travel Authority (ETA).

Travellers not eligible under the Safe Travel Zone arrangement

If you are not eligible to travel under the Safe Travel Zone arrangement, you may be eligible to travel under other arrangements if you:

A travel exemption can be requested through the Travel Exemption Portal.

Australia Travel Declaration (ATD)

Complete an Australia Travel Declaration (ATD) at least 72 hours before departure. The ATD requests details that are considered to be critical health information. You must be able to provide evidence that the critical information was completed before you board the aircraft.

This is an enforceable requirement. A person who fails to comply with the requirement may be liable to a civil penalty (fine) of 30 penalty units (currently $6,660 AUD). This is set out in section 46 of the Biosecurity Act 2015. Travellers who do not make the declaration before they board their flight will be delayed when arriving in Australia.

This information helps the Australian Government determine your quarantine arrangements (if required). It also allows the relevant health departments to contact you if someone you travelled with tests positive for COVID-19. Completing the ATD and cooperating with this process helps keep Australia safe and open.

When filling out the ATD you will need to:

  • provide your contact details, including a contact phone number in Australia
  • make a legally binding declaration in relation to your vaccination status
  • acknowledge that when you check-in for your flight, you must present proof of a negative COVID-19 PCR test taken within 3 days of your flight’s scheduled departure to Australia (unless medically exempt)
  • make a declaration regarding your last 14 days travel history
  • make a declaration that you are aware of the quarantine and testing requirements that apply in the state or territory you are landing, and the penalties for non-compliance.

Penalties will apply for giving false and misleading information, including potential criminal prosecution for providing false or misleading information. This is set out in section 137.1 of the Criminal Code Act 1995.

Quarantine and local requirements

People travelling to Australia must comply with requirements in the state or territory of their arrival, and any other states or territories they travel to. This includes quarantine and post-arrival testing requirements. Restrictions may change at short notice.

States and territories are responsible for determining and managing quarantine arrangements.

Most states and territories require you to take a COVID-19 test within 24 hours of arriving in Australia. You should check this, and additional state and territory testing requirements for that state or territory.

If you are planning on travelling onwards to or through a different state or territory when you arrive in Australia, you need to check domestic travel restrictions. States and territories can apply their own travel restrictions.

This includes student visa holders who have received a confirmation of enrolment to study in an institution outside of participating jurisdictions, as they will need to follow relevant border and quarantine arrangements for the relevant state or territory.

You are responsible for complying with travel restrictions and requirements that apply to you.

To check local quarantine and post-arrival testing requirements, see State and Territory Information for travellers.

Participating Australian states and territories

Current participating Australian states and territories are New South Wales, Victoria, Tasmania, the Australian Capital Territory and the Northern Territory.

If an eligible South Korean passport holder seeks to travel onwards to another Australian state or territory other than those participating, they must adhere to all the entry rules of that state or territory, including quarantine and post-arrival testing requirements.

 Note: Any change in the COVID-19 situation could lead to a pause in quarantine-free travel arrangements without notice. You are responsible for checking the entry requirements for each state and territory in Australia, including quarantine arrangements.